Conde Naste Traveler 

Jetlag

Jet Lag is a nasty fact about traveling abroad or across the US.

When I travel to Europe I try to reset my body clock to Europe Time by going to bed earlier for the 2 weeks before  my travel and waking up earlier.

I also fly the overnight flights so I wake up at my destination and start the day. DO NOT GO TO SLEEP WHEN YOU ARRIVE. You will just waste the day and be weirdly groggy.

Sleep on the plane as much as possible. This is also easier on an overnight flight since they turn the lights off. I use a sleep mask, my own memory foam pillow that can be smooshed into a small carrying case, Melatonin, Benadryl, and noise cancelling headphones. I can sleep through an entire flight. You can also ask your doctor for some Xanax or Valium if you think you need it. You are resetting your body clock and you don’t want to waste your vacation being a zombie.

